Diamonds come naturally from the Earth in almost every color of the rainbow. In most cases, the whiter the diamond, the more valuable it is. Fancy colored diamonds are an exception to the rule. Diamonds that are rated yellow colored past D are rare and are more valuable.

Color is the second of the four c’s in importance in determining the overall beauty of the diamond. The color of a diamond is rated using a Color Scale – GIA’s scale is the most widely used – which classifies the stones in alphabetical order starting with the letter D, being the whitest or colorless, or best, and goes down the letter Z, being near-colorless, with slight hints of yellows or browns.

The lack of color, or whiteness in a diamond, allows maximum light to pass through the stone and disperse that beauty back to the observer. A white diamond will look very clean, crisp, and brilliant, with a lot of dazzle. A yellow diamond will not really look yellow, as it will look darker and dirty brown, without nearly the same brilliance. These are differences that you can clearly see, as you do not need to be a trained expert or certifies gemologist to see these differences.

G, H and I are near-colorless stones that look colorless to the naked eye. These are the whitest stones commonly available in the engagement ring market.

A diamond rated G and H on the color scale is your best choice for quality and value.


The Four C’s
o Cut
o Color
o Clarity
o Carat


Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *